‘Spitzenkandidaten’ for the Socialists, the Left, the Greens, and for ‘European Spring’, are giving their answers to Progressive Caucus’s 10 points

The lead candidates (spitzenkandidaten) for the European Commission’s presidency from the Party of European Socialists, the Party of European Left, the European Green Party, and ‘European Spring’, gave answers to Progressive Caucus’s 10 points for a political debate, ahead of the European elections, taking place on the 26th of May.

The Steering Committee for the Progressive Caucus* in the European Parliament addressed a ten-point letter to the leading candidates of the four parties, asking them to engage in an open dialogue in the name of  the pursuit of progressive alliances in Europe.

Frans Timmermans (Socialists), Nico Cue and Violeta Tomic (Left), Ska Keller and Bas Eickhout (Greens), Yanis Varoufakis and Isabelle Thomas (European Spring) are expressing their positions ahead of the upcoming elections for the European Parliament.


Below you can find Progressive Caucus’s Steering Committee’s ten-point letter, as well as the four answering letters.

**The Progressive Caucus is a space of dialogue based on confidence-building and open debate. Ιts aim is to analyze differences and build bridges between progressive allies in the European Parliament and across Europe. It has been established by progressive MEPs of different political groups and is open to everyone in the community of the European Parliament standing for solidarity, democracy, social justice and sustainability. In the Progressive Caucus participate MEPs from the S&D, the Greens/ EFA and the GUE/ NGL groups.

Progressive Caucus’s 10 point letter

Cue & Tomic


Ska Keller & Bas Eickhout

Varoufakis & Thomas

Progressive Caucus’s Steering Committee

Guillaume Balas (S&D)

Elly Schlein (S&D)

Sergio Cofferati (S&D)

Georgi Pirinski (S&D)

Dimitrios Papadimoulis (GUE/ NGL)

Martin Schirdewan (GUE/ NGL)

Eva Joly (Greens/ EFA)

Ernest Urtasun (Greens/ EFA)

Florent Marcellesi (Greens/ EFA)